talents that are just words.

August 19, 2010 § Leave a comment

I want to tell you: “I can do it”
with bullet points and a list of attributes
in my wrinkled
season-speckled forehead.

You can do it too,
except I have no knowledge if that is true.

I do not know how you waste
(if you waste in the presence of nature like drawn leaves or if you dry out in winter like soapy flakes of skin.)

I can tell you that I lose color and retain shape like a gingko in November. That I am brusque like bark
and softened by water.

There is talent to breathe through my eyes
and touch cold metal and feel it down my spine.
No talent is required to feel your resonance in my collar
-but you are metal too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading talents that are just words. at rebeccaruth.

meta

